In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000543097A
Tuesday, July 21, 2009 9:00 AM
From:
"PR@wrigley.com" 
To:
topher.wheeler@yahoo.com
Dear Chris,

Thank you for contacting us to inquire about the origin of the gelatin used in Starburst® Original candies.

Gelatin contributes to the unique texture of our Skittles and Starburst products sold in USA.  Gelatin is derived exclusively from collagen which is always of animal origin and is 100% beef.

As of January 2009 we did remove the gelatin from the Skittles and Starburst. Please continue to check the ingredients label because at this time both formulas are available on the market.

We hope this information is helpful in finding your favorite products.  If you have any further comments or questions please feel free to contact us, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST, at 1-800-974-4539.

Sincerely,

Janell O’Neil
Consumer Affairs Representative